Melanie Flood Projects

yqskhqbd6l6dwpo0pa2zcewno1_500

Last night I attended March Madness at Melanie Floods. What a treat. It was a salon-style event in her Fort Greene home. very casual. nice mingling. goodies. (dumplings and cadbury mini eggs!) and a room full of uber talented photographers. It was nice to finally meet Noah Kalina in person, after having seen his face all over the internet. I also got to not only meet, but have a rather lengthy conversation with Juliana Beasely, whose work I came across fairly recently. I really like this image from her new series entitled Rockaways.

picture-11

Below is an excerpt from a great interview with Melanie Flood about her prrojects. You can read the rest here.

The Current State of the Art Market Q&A with Melanie Flood of Melanie Flood Projects

1. Please explain to us about Melanie Flood Projects…How did it start it? Why in your house?

I began Melanie Flood Projects over the summer of 2008 because I felt that artists and photographers (like myself) needed a new style of venue to showcase their art. I was tired of it being utterly impossible for a young, talented artist to display their work, other than online or in crowded group shows that require a participation fee.

The Idea came to me when I was in the position of Managing Editor at Zingmagazine. We were involved in Art Chicago 2002 and while visiting I came across stay at home mothers that ran public galleries from their homes. These women were artists, curators, collectors, and they didn’t allow motherhood prevent them from being involved with what they loved. I was influenced most by a young woman who had Amy Sillman watercolors displayed on her fridge with magnets. Made me think differently about he way art should and could be displayed.

So based on the inspiration from these women, I decided to base the gallery from my home and I am fortunate enough to live in a lovely brownstone in a great part of Brooklyn. I am also drawn to the idea of the home as a social hub apart from public spaces such as bars, clubs, galleries, & cafes.

Leave a Reply

